Pin-Chun Liu

Pin-Chun Liu was born in Taiwan 1993, and started to play French horn in age eight. After graduated from Affiliated Senior High School of National Taiwan Normal University, Ms. Liu kept her way on learning music in New York. In 2015, she received her Bachelor’s degree from Manhattan School of Music, studying under Javier Gandara. She then entered Orchestral Performance program and Master of music degree in the same school, where she was a full-scholarship student of Michelle Baker. In addition, she was a member of Hsing-Tien Temple long-term cultivation for gifted students (2009-2017), and was awarded scholarship every semester.

Ms. Liu has won numerous competitions including Lillian Fuchs Chamber Music Competition, the 1st prize of Taipei music competition and National Taiwan music competition, 1st prize of Taipei Youth wind orchestra competition of the concerto, 2nd prize of Taiwan Culture cup of Young Musician. In 2007, she was the winner of Young Artist Star competition of concerto by Taipei Symphony Orchestra, and got the chance to perform Richard Strauss French Horn Concerto No.1 with Taipei Symphony Orchestra in Taipei Zhongshan Hall.

As an orchestral soloist, solo recitalist and chamber musician, Ms. Liu has performed in Lincoln center David Geffen Hall, Carnegie Hall, the Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine, New Jersey City Hall, The New World Center, among many others. During the summer, she has been invited to music festivals such as Interlochen for the Arts Camp, Kent Blossom Music Festival, Miami Summer Music Festival, Maine Chamber Music Seminar. She has served in Manhattan Symphonie, Camerata Notturna Orchestra, Columbia University Bach Society, New York Youth Symphony, and Manhattan School of Music Philharmonia and Symphony Orchestra. She has performed in master classes presented by Sarah Willis, Radovan Vlatkovic, Erik Ralske, Richard King, Jennifer Montone, Jeff Lang, Carsten Duffin, etc…

Ms. Liu joined National Symphony Orchestra of Taiwan as Associate Principle Horn since 2017.