NSO - Jun Märkl & Saint-Saëns

NSO - Jun Märkl & Saint-Saëns

2021-12-03 Fri 19:30National Concert Hall400 600 900 1200 1500 2000Buy
2021-12-11 Sat 19:30Weiwuying Concert Hall300 600 900 1200 1500 2000Buy
Jun Märkl, conductor
Chun-Chieh Yen, Yi-Chih Lu, piano

Chih-Yun Wang: Tear: Echo (One-minute Symphony Project, world premiere)
Camille Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre, Op.40
Francis Poulenc: Concerto pour deux pianos
Camille Saint-Saëns: Symphony No.3 in C minor, Op.78, "Organ"

In order to commemorate the centennial anniversary of the death of French composer Camille Saint-Saëns and in keeping with our theme of "French Music" for the 2021/22 season, the Artistic Advisor of the NSO Jun Märkl will lead the orchestra in presenting this great composer's masterpieces.

Danse Macabre, one of Saint-Saëns' well-known tone poems, was based on the poem of the same title written by French poet Henri Cazalis. It depicts the scene of one specific night when all dead souls are allowed to leave their graves to roam and revel. The grotesque rhythms of this work capture the eerie aura, while at the same time maintaining some playful tones.

Commissioned by the Philharmonic Society of London, the beautiful and magnificent Symphony No. 3, "Organ" is acknowledged as the most innovative symphony written by Saint-Saëns. The music turns exceedingly monumental when the organ joins in for the coda of the second movement.

Two brilliant pianists, Chun-Chieh Yen and Yi-Chih Lu, will showcase Poulenc's Concerto pour deux pianos with the accompaniment of Jun Märkl and the NSO. With its carefree, playful, and unrestrained spirit and enchanting melodies, this piece always touches audiences' hearts.

Join us for a night of French delicacy!