Sinaisky & NSO

Classics Series

Sinaisky & NSO

2018-11-23 Fri 19:30National Concert Hall 400 700 1000 1200 1500Buy

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK: Carnival Overture, Op.92
PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY: Nocturne for Cello and Orchestra, Op.9 No.4, D minor
Variations on a Rococo Theme
Symphony No.6

The renowned Russian conductor Vassily Sinaisky, Gold Medal winner at the Karajan Competition, has held conducting posts with orchestras in half a dozen countries in addition to several in his native Russia. He brings to the NSO audience three Russian masterpieces, the ever popular Rococo Variations and Nocturne for Cello and Orchestra by Tchaikovsky, two staples in every cellist's repertory, and Prokofiev's Sixth Symphony – not one of his most famous, but the one many consider to be his best, and the only one by a famous composer in the rarely-used key of E-flat minor. To open the program, we go slightly west of Russia to Bohemia for Dvořák's exhilarating Carnival Overture.

【notice of change】
  1. NSO Chatroom at 19:45, November 21, 2018 will be cancelled due to unexpected medical issue of conductor Vassily Sinaisky.
  2. November 23, 2018 program change: Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 6 will be replaced by Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6.

Ticket refund will be handled at the NTCH Box Office without handling charge until 19:30, November 23. 2018.