MD Series 3


2018-03-23 Fri 19:30National Concert Hall 400 700 1000 1200 1500 2000Buy
SHAO-CHIA LÜ, conductor

LEE, CHUN-WEI: Picking Up the Sounds of Crops (commissioned by the NSO, world primere)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 15, C major
JEAN SIBELIUS: Lemminkäinen Suite, Op. 22

Get ready for an extraordinary musical adventure. The four Legends Sibelius wrote about Lemminkäinen collectively have the power and impact of a major symphony. Lemminkäinen is the great hero of Finland’s national epic, the Kalevala. In these Legends Sibelius evokes vast northern forests, dusky psychological landscapes, monolithic visions, powerful supernatural forces, and superhuman exploits. If this is unfamiliar music to you, be prepared to be mightily impressed! The program opens with Fabio Lee’s musical tribute to a staple of our diet – rice in its many forms, from seedling to harvest.

[Notice of Program Change]

The piano concerto for Lemminkäinen on March 23 will be change to:

L.v. BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No.1, Op.15, C Major

Ticket refunds will be handled by the NTCH Box Office before March 22, 2018, with a 10 percent handling fee.

February 23, 2018